Charleston Accident Attorneys Help Victims of Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers
Don’t get stuck with the bill after a crash with an uninsured motorist
In West Virginia, 11 percent — more than one out of 10 — of the motorists you meet on the road don’t carry any insurance. Many more are driving with far less than the legal minimum of coverage. If one of these uninsured or underinsured drivers hits you, who’s going to pay for your medical bills and the damage to your vehicle? The attorneys at The The Giatras Law Firm, PLLC know how to answer that question and how to get you the compensation you deserve.
How much auto insurance is required in West Virginia?
The state mandates that every driver carry auto liability insurance, but the small amount required is unlikely to cover your full damages if you are seriously injured. West Virginia requires drivers to maintain coverage with at least the following minimums:
- $20,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $40,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $10,000 in property damage liability coverage per incident
Are there any other potential sources of compensation?
West Virginia also requires all drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage. If an uninsured driver hits you, you make a claim against your own uninsured motorist coverage. But, again, the required minimum coverage is small. The requirements for uninsured motorist coverage in West Virginia are:
- Bodily injury per person: $20,000
- Bodily injury per incident: $40,000
- Property damage: $10,000
If you are severely injured in a auto accident, that $20,000 in bodily injury coverage is not going to go very far.
So what should I do if I was hurt by an uninsured or underinsured driver?
Your first step should be to contact a lawyer who is experienced in handling accidents involving uninsured or underinsured drivers. The injury attorneys at The The Giatras Law Firm, PLLC make sure you receive all of the insurance benefits you’re entitled to, and then we explore other avenues of compensation.
The uninsured or underinsured driver may have assets that can be attached or wages that can be garnished. There also may be liable third parties you have not considered who can compensate you for your losses — the automaker that sold the other driver a dangerously defective car, the tavern owner who sold the other driver a few too many drinks, the construction company that left hazardous debris in the road.
If you have been seriously injured by an uninsured or underinsured motorist, the experienced personal injury & accident team at The The Giatras Law Firm, PLLC is ready to help. Contact us by phone 888-819-1281 or online. We represent clients in Charleston and throughout West Virginia.